Out with the old

Howdy,

My name is Lucia Hood. Even though I attend the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor, my family is made up of Aggies. So I’m an Aggie at heart. My major is public relations. I love to cook, scuba dive, and hang out with my boyfriend and our dog Shiner— yes like the beer.

I also love to shop and I don’t care what it’s for. It could be tools for my dad, groceries, or the perfect accessory at Nordstrom. I grew up in the country, but that doesn’t mean I don’t know anything about fashion. I’m the girl whose roommates ask to dress them or borrow my clothes, shoes and jewelry. I have been blessed a lot in life, and this is just something I love to do.

I wanted to start this blog to talk about all the great ways women can save money but still look great. How they can eat well, shop on craigslist without getting ripped off, and plan a dream wedding. I want all women to get what they want without overpaying.

Being in college is tough–trying to manage school, social life, work, and sleep. It’s also challenging to find time to squeeze in that workout every now and then. I have found a few ways to make a dollar go just a little bit further when doing any kind of shopping… Fashion first.

Okay, so every woman want a variety of clothes, but let’s be honest, how many of us wear 100% of what’s in our closet? Go through and pick out what you haven’t worn in the last 6 months or so. If it’s good quality but you’re just tired of it, try to sell it. There are resale shops that will pay you for your gently used clothes. If it’s been worn a lot, go ahead and donate it!

Also, take out ALL the clothes from high school; even if they still fit get rid of them. What we wore in high school is either no longer in style, not flattering, or too immature for our age. And that’s ok. Getting a little older doesn’t mean you have to dress like a soccer mom, a grandma or a nun.

Follow me on this journey to creating a new and better you–all while doing it affordably!

Check out these blogs too! They are my inspirations and always have good posts:

http://thecollegegirlbudget.blogspot.com

http://www.thebudgetfashionista.com/archive/budget-shopping-tip/

http://jseverydayfashion.com

http://the20somethings.com

http://www.thisconfettilife.com

Leave a Reply

